US Senator Twitter Accounts, 114th Congress (Historical)

This is a copy of the final version of the list of Senators for the 114th Congress, and is preserved for historical purposes.  Please see the current list for up to date information.

If you’re interested in a list of Twitter accounts for the current US Senate (114th Congress), here’s what I’ve found.  The accounts are assigned to one of three categories:

  1. Official Senator accounts, where the tweets are identified as coming from the senator or seem to be in first person,
  2. Senate staff accounts, where the tweets are identified as not coming from the senator or speak of him/her in third person, and
  3. Campaign / other accounts, where it could be the senator’s private account, the campaign account, or some vestige of a previous account.  It may not be active.

At this time, many incoming senators do not have official Twitter accounts or their account names represent their former positions (e.g., @RepGaryPeters).  I expect this to change over the next month or so.  Consider this list provisional for now.

Please send any corrections my way!

State Senator Official Senator Twitter ID Senate Staff Twitter Id Campaign/Other ID Facebook (WIP)
Alabama Richard Shelby @SenShelby facebook20x20icon
Alabama Jeff Sessions @SenatorSessions @jeffsessions  facebook20x20icon
Alaska Lisa Murkowski @lisamurkowski @Lisa4Senate facebook20x20icon
Alaska Dan Sullivan @DanSullivan2014 facebook20x20icon
Arizona John McCain @SenJohnMcCain @TeamMcCain facebook20x20icon
Arizona Jeff Flake @JeffFlake @FlakeforSenate
Arkansas Tom Cotton @RepTomCotton @TomCottonAR
Arkansas John Boozman @JohnBoozman @Boozman4AR
California Dianne Feinstein @SenFeinstein @DianneFeinstein
California Barbara Boxer @SenatorBoxer @BarbaraBoxer
Colorado Michael Bennet @SenBennetCO @BennetForCO
Colorado Cory Gardner @repcorygardner  @CoryGardner
Connecticut Christopher Murphy @ChrisMurphyCT
Connecticut Richard Blumenthal @SenBlumenthal @DickBlumenthal
Delaware Tom Carper @SenatorCarper @SenCarper_Press  
Delaware Chris Coons @ChrisCoons @SenCoonsOffice @coons4delaware
Florida Bill Nelson @SenBillNelson @NelsonForSenate
Florida Marco Rubio @marcorubio @SenRubioPress
Georgia Saxby Chambliss @SaxbyChambliss
Georgia David Perdue @Perduesenate
Georgia Johnny Isakson @SenatorIsakson  @JohnnyIsakson
Hawaii Brian Schatz @brianschatz  @SenBrianSchatz  @SchatzforHawaii
Hawaii Mazie K. Hirono @maziehirono @mazieforhawaii
Idaho Mike Crapo @MikeCrapo @crapo4senate 
Idaho Jim Risch @SenatorRisch  @JimRisch
Illinois Dick Durbin @SenatorDurbin @DickDurbin
Illinois Mark Kirk @SenatorKirk @MarkKirk
Indiana Joe Donnelly @SenDonnelly 
Indiana Dan Coats @SenDanCoats @DanCoats
Iowa Chuck Grassley @ChuckGrassley @GrassleyOffice @GrassleyWorks
Iowa Joni Ernst @joniernst
Kansas Pat Roberts @SenPatRoberts @PatRoberts2014
Kansas Jerry Moran @JerryMoran @moranforkansas
Kentucky Mitch McConnell  @SenateMajLdr @McConnellPress @Team_Mitch
Kentucky Rand Paul @SenRandPaul  (new),
@DrRandPaul (old)
Louisiana Bill Cassidy @BillCassidy
Louisiana David Vitter @DavidVitter @senatorvitter
(no tweets)
Maine Angus King  @SenAngusKing @AngusKing2018
Maine Susan Collins @SenatorCollins @collins4senator
Maryland Barbara Mikulski @SenatorBarb
Maryland Ben Cardin @SenatorCardin @BenCardinforMD
Massachusetts Ed Markey @senmarkey @EdMarkey
Massachusetts Elizabeth Warren @SenWarren @elizabethforma
Michigan Gary Peters  @RepGaryPeters  @Peters4Michigan
Michigan Debbie Stabenow @SenStabenow @stabenow @TeamStabenow
Minnesota Amy Klobuchar @amyklobuchar
Minnesota Al Franken  @alfranken
Mississippi Thad Cochran @SenThadCochran
Mississippi Roger Wicker @SenatorWicker @RogerWicker
Missouri Claire McCaskill @clairecmc @McCaskillOffice  @McCaskill2012
Missouri Roy Blunt @RoyBlunt  @RoyBluntPress  @RoyBluntMO
Montana Steve Daines  @SteveDaines @DainesforMT
Montana Jon Tester @SenatorTester @jontester
Nebraska Deb Fischer @SenatorFischer @DebFischer2012
Nebraska Ben Sasse @Sasse4Senate
Nevada Harry Reid @SenatorReid @SenadorReid
(En Español)
Nevada Dean Heller @SenDeanHeller @DeanHeller
New Hampshire Jeanne Shaheen @SenatorShaheen @JeanneShaheen
New Hampshire Kelly Ayotte  @KellyAyotte @AyotteNH
New Jersey Cory Booker @CoryBooker  @SenBookerOfc @Booker4Senate
New Jersey Bob Menendez @SenatorMenendez @Menendez4NJ
New Mexico Martin Heinrich @MartinHeinrich @Heinrich4NM
New Mexico Tom Udall @SenatorTomUdall   @tomudall
New York Chuck Schumer @SenSchumer @chuckschumer
New York Kirsten Gillibrand @SenGillibrand
North Carolina Richard Burr @SenatorBurr @Burrforsenate
North Carolina Thom Tillis @ThomTillis
North Dakota Heidi Heitkamp @SenatorHeitkamp @Heidi4ND
North Dakota John Hoeven @SenJohnHoeven @hoeven4senate
Ohio Sherrod Brown @SenSherrodBrown @SherrodBrown
Ohio Rob Portman @robportman @PortmanPress  
Oklahoma Jim Inhofe @jiminhofe @jiminhofe
Oklahoma James Lankford @SenatorLankford @jameslankford
Oregon Ron Wyden @RonWyden @WydenPress
Oregon Jeff Merkley @SenJeffMerkley  @JeffMerkley
Pennsylvania Bob Casey, Jr. @SenBobCasey  
Pennsylvania Pat Toomey @SenToomey @ToomeyForSenate
Rhode Island Jack Reed @SenJackReed
Rhode Island Sheldon Whitehouse @SenWhitehouse @SheldonforRI
South Carolina Lindsey Graham @GrahamBlog @LindseyGrahamSC
South Carolina Tim Scott @SenatorTimScott @votetimscott
South Dakota Mike Rounds  @RoundsforSenate
South Dakota John Thune @SenJohnThune @johnthune
Tennessee Lamar Alexander @SenAlexander @LamarAlexander
Tennessee Bob Corker @SenBobCorker @CorkerforTN
Texas Ted Cruz @SenTedCruz @tedcruz
Texas John Cornyn  @JohnCornyn @TeamCornyn
Utah Orrin Hatch @SenOrrinHatch @OrrinHatch
Utah Mike Lee @SenMikeLee @mikelee2010
Vermont Patrick Leahy @SenatorLeahy
Vermont Bernie Sanders @SenatorSanders @FriendsOfBernie
Virginia Tim Kaine @timkaine @SenKaineOffice
Virginia Mark Warner @MarkWarner @MarkWarnerVA
Washington Patty Murray @PattyMurray @MurrayCampaign
Washington Maria Cantwell  @SenatorCantwell @MariaCantwell
West Virginia Shelley Moore Capito @SenCapito  @CapitoforWV
West Virginia Joe Manchin @Sen_JoeManchin @JoeManchinWV
Wisconsin Tammy Baldwin  @SenatorBaldwin @tammybaldwin
Wisconsin Ron Johnson @SenRonJohnson @Ron4Senate
Wyoming Mike Enzi @SenatorEnzi @EnziforWyo
Wyoming John Barrasso @SenJohnBarrasso @barrassoforwyo

Update History:

Date Change
  • Added entry for @SenateMajLdr (McConnell)
  • Updates to misc accounts.
  • Thank you to Jacob Dowd for updates.
  • Initial round of updates for incoming senators
  • Started to build out list of Facebook Accounts
  • Added Senator Booker’s office Twitter account
  • Added Tom Udall’s Press Office id
  • Added Rob Portman’s campaign id
  • @JimInhofe switched from an official senate account to a campaign account
  • Added @CoburnForSenate campaign account
  • Changed Ron Wyden’s campaign account from @WydenForSenate to @WydenForOregon
  • Added campaign account for Jeff Merkley
  • Added campaign account for Bob Casey
  • Senator Shelby changed his twitter Id.
  • Added Mark Begich’s campaign account
  • Added Mark Pryor’s campaign account
  • Added Tom Carper’s campaign account
  • Added Johnny Isakson’s campaign account
  • Senator Kirk’s official account seems to be more in the first person, so I moved it into the Official Senator category from staff
  • Moved Joe Donnelly’s account over to staff
  • Some addition and movement around of Debbie Stabenow’s accounts
  • Al Franken’s twitter account moved over to campaign category
  • Tossed in Claire McCaskel’s dormant campaign account
  • Added Roy Blunt’s 2010 campaign account — 2016 isn’t that far away!
  • Replaced Max Baucus with John Walsh
  • Fixed campaign account to be @Booker4Senate
  • Added the @CoryBooker2016 campaign account
  • Cory Booker sworn in for NJ
  • Update NJ for Jeff Chiesa
  • Update Mass for Markey
  • Added hyperlinks to Twitter
  • Minor changes to various accounts
  • Lots of new campaign accounts